Overview
Zoom recordings are saved on your account for 16 months. Once 487 days have passed since a recording's creation date, it will be automatically sent to your Trash. Items in the Trash are permanently deleted after 30 days. It is not possible to turn off auto-deletion for your Zoom account.
We highly recommend that you review your Zoom account recordings regularly to download needed recordings at risk of deletion as well as retrieve needed recordings from Trash before permanent deletion.
Viewing your recordings
Quick guide
- Go to https://usc.zoom.us, and click Sign in.
- If prompted, sign in using your USC NetID@usc.edu and passphrase, and complete Duo authentication.
- In the upper right, click your profile icon and select My account.
- In the left menu, select Recordings and Transcripts.
- Any recordings that you created less than 487 days ago (or 16 months) will appear in this list. Recordings older than 16 months may appear if an individual recording had auto-delete disabled or if you recovered the recording from Trash earlier the same day.
Detailed guide (with screenshots)
- Go to https://usc.zoom.us, and click Sign in.
- If prompted, sign in using your USC NetID@usc.edu and passphrase, and complete Duo authentication.
- In the upper right, click your profile icon and select My account.

- In the left menu, select Recordings and Transcripts.

- Any recordings that you created less than 487 days ago (or 16 months) will appear in this list. Recordings older than 16 months may appear if an individual recording had auto-delete disabled or if you recovered the recording from Trash earlier the same day.

Recovering deleted recordings
To look for older recordings, select the Trash tab. Then, click Recover beside the recording you need:

Recordings are automatically sent to the Trash tab after 16 months. This is also where older recordings were automatically sent if you previously had auto-delete disabled for your account.
If you recovered a recording that is older than 16 months from your Trash, it will be available in the Cloud recordings tab. We recommend immediately downloading the files before the recording is automatically deleted again.
Permanent deletion
Recordings are permanently deleted from Trash after 30 days.
Saving recordings indefinitely
Option 1 (recommended): Download the recording
The safest method for ensuring that you can access your older recordings is to download the files to your computer.
To download a recording, click the More options icon beside it and then select Download. If the recording is in your Trash, you must first recover it, as you cannot download files within the Trash tab.

Option 2: Disable auto-delete for an individual recording
If you need the recording to remain available on Zoom so that you can continue to share the link, you can contact ITS to request that they disable auto-delete on a recording-by-recording basis: email consult@usc.edu or open a support ticket at https://itsusc.service-now.com/.